writepaster.blogg.se

Metal gear solid v the phantom pain 2015
Metal gear solid v the phantom pain 2015





metal gear solid v the phantom pain 2015
  1. #METAL GEAR SOLID V THE PHANTOM PAIN 2015 PC#
  2. #METAL GEAR SOLID V THE PHANTOM PAIN 2015 SERIES#

Instead, I was surprised to encounter one of the best systems-driven stealth games in years, one where creativity is relentlessly rewarded and encouraged and also where there is a dog with a knife who stabs people.

metal gear solid v the phantom pain 2015

One of my favourite feelings in gaming is when I realise that I’m not a slave to the game’s logic, but my own.Ĭhris Thursten: I hadn’t touched a Metal Gear game in over fifteen years, so The Phantom Pain’s weaknesses as a sequel (or prequel, I suppose) didn’t mean much to me. It's both an expertly crafted stealth game and a fun, satisfying action game-rewarding both the meticulous and the frivolous with an expanding, upgradeable set of toys that make both styles equally gratifying. It's an amazing world to manipulate, and filled with so many toys that every visit promises something new. It's an excuse to slip in and out of outposts, planning out routes and approaches, and being forced to improvise when things go wrong. My time has been spent wandering Afghanistan, completing side-ops and liberating resources. Like Andy, I'm a huge MGS fan, but I've barely touched the story. If you look at our last two GOTY's- Spelunky and Alien-I think the theme is expertly crafted worlds that house surprising, delightfully emergent systems that clash together in chaotic and playful ways.

#METAL GEAR SOLID V THE PHANTOM PAIN 2015 PC#

Phil Savage: Metal Gear Solid V might not be the most obvious choice for a PC publication's game of the year, but I think it's the right choice for PC Gamer.

#METAL GEAR SOLID V THE PHANTOM PAIN 2015 SERIES#

Metal Gear is the king of sandbox games, and this was the perfect time for the series to come back to PC. It’s left the likes of Assassin’s Creed looking tired in its wake. The game is so thoroughly divorced from the boring story that you could entirely enjoy the game without it. This is so far ahead of other action games-Kojima Productions retained the series’ detail and sense of humour but found more ways to convey that with unscripted moments. It’s so good that I can’t quite believe this game has been made in my lifetime. I’ve called in airstrikes on bears, stuck numerous tanks on balloons, and patted my dog for reassurance while being hunted by mechs, helicopters and soldiers. Its suite of toys starts big then just expands over the course of many sidequests, offering players more and more options with which to mess with enemies. But the time of MGS as a story-heavy series truly ended with MGS4-this is a new era of Metal Gear, one where the focus lies on user-generated stories by throwing together systems in two massive open worlds. Samuel Roberts: As a friend of mine put it recently, it was always the systems that made Metal Gear special, not the story.







Metal gear solid v the phantom pain 2015